Friday, July 17, 2009

The Privilege of Blindness

My Beef

To most folks the idea of privilege is more foreign than high school language requirements. My beef is with folks that do NOT recognize their race. As well as what privileges or disadvantages it may bestow upon you at birth. Growing up in a neighborhood that is predominantly one sided in class/race/sexual orientation tends to create a blind fold effect for a lot of youth. The fantasy world we live in plays on the idea that their is no racism or discrimination in the constructs of our communities. However, this couldn't be any further from the truth. Most folks my age and in the northern areas of San Diego choose to not be aware of the realities of the world. Naivety at its best.

In essence the progress we've made is good, but creates dialectic that spreads faster than aids. Another form of discrimination peeks its wretched little head out from beneath the sewers of ignorance. The belly of the beast growls in anticipation waiting to feast on the flesh of careless twenty something year olds. The overall privilege of blindness attributes to the lack of concern for social or political issues. Regardless of the weight that it may pound on our backs in the future, we continue to cover our eyes in the face of anythign remotely important/serious. We the future leaders of America.

Call It What You Like

Call it a...
"lack of interest."
"Selfishness."
"unawareness."
"reliance on mommy and daddy to tell me how to FEEL."
... your welcome to call it whatever you like.

I just call it stupid.

I remember watching some daytime talk show when I was younger. The one that sent badass kids to boot camp. You know the one. Yea. That one. Well the reason I'm bringing it up is because the drill instructor said one thing that has stuck through my mind that defines the difference between stupidity and ignorance to well. Something a long the lines of when you dont know no better thats ignorant, when you know your doin something wrong and still do it thats just plain STUPID.

So I ask why? Why do so many folks my age CHOOSE to stay unaware about anything that doesn't pertain to celebrity gossip or crappy reality T.V. shows. Where? Where do we go from here? What? Whats next? Issues on race still are evident regardless if you wear you huge Obama shirt proudly. Gay marriage isn't gonna pass by wearing your American Apparel "Gay Marriage: Legalize it t-shirt."

Educate Yourself

First and foremost educate yourself. The tendency is to stay locked up in our ivory towers, watching I Love Money while reading Perez Hilton's blog. It's only a matter of time till someone knocks the floor out from underneath your ass. For example, one day someone will make a racism/sexist comment in your presense. Or dare I say it..direct that comment towards you. What the fuck are you gonna say or do? About most of the time it ain't worth your time and maybe you should just walk away, but at some point you gotta be prepared and say something to shush there bigot ass mouth. RECOGNIZE that your white male or female hetero-normative friends aren't gonna bail you outta this one. Instead of blacking out from the multiple drugs and alcohol you consume within a night of dancing to the latest Lil Wayne chart topper, take some time out of your day to prepare yourself for the day life super man punches you in the head.

Open Your Damn Eyes

In the mean time we might be able to keep our eyes shut and have a choice as to what we see, but at some point your eyes will be forced to open. Check your privilege at the door hang up your coat and take off your hat. Make yourself comfortable. Have a drink or two. The moment life throws you a curve ball you better knock that shit out the park or you might as well take it right between the eyes and forget who you are. Hopefully you as a person are defined by more than the amount of shots of beer pong you can make within your lifetime.

No comments:

Post a Comment